Legislation has been enacted or proposed in the Federal, State and overseas jurisdictions. Detailed below are some of the better publicised legislation, principles and standards.

Commonwealth of Australia
The Commonwealth of Australia has or is enacting legislation that specific provisions relating to whistleblowers and whistleblower protection. They include:

  • Public Interest Disclosure Act 2013

  • Aged Care Act 1997 (Sec: 96.8)

  • Banking Act 1959 (Part VIA Sec: 52A-E)

  • Corporations Act 2001 (Part 9.4AAA Sec: 1317AA–AE)

  • Insurance Act 1973 (Part III A, Div 4, Sec: 38A–E)

  • Life Insurance Act 1995 (Sec: 156A–E)

  • Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 (Part 29A, Div 1, Sec: 336A–E)

  • Workplace Relations Act 1996 (Part 4A Sec: 337A–D)

More details are available by visiting


Australian Capital Territory – Public Interest Disclosure Act 2012

New South Wales – Protected Disclosures Act 1994

Northern Territory – Public Interest Disclosure Act 2008

Queensland – Public Interest Disclosure Act 2010

South Australia – Whistleblowers Protection Act 1993

Tasmania – Public Interests Disclosures Act 2012

Victoria – Protected Disclosures Act 2012

Western Australia – Public Interest Disclosure Act 2003


Japan – Financial Instruments and Exchange Law (J-SOX)
To be advised

New Zealand – Protected Disclosures Act 2000 (Sec: 17-19A)

United Kingdom – Public Interest Disclosure Act (Sec: 47B) UK Bribery Act

United States of America – Sarbanes-Oxley Act (Sec: 309, 404, 806, 1107)


Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (USA)

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

Australian Securities Exchange

Australian Securities and Investment Commission

CPA Australia

Institute of Chartered Accountants

Institute of Internal Auditors

Public Concern at Work (UK)

Standards Australia

State Ombudsman

Transparency International Australia